A Desert Drive

Lane Wagner
2 min readApr 20, 2021
Tara Evans on Unsplash

Through the desert, without light, a friend and I drove through the night.

In search of my missing brother, we sat in silence with one another.

Lacking success, I still yearned to roam, when out of nowhere appeared a home.

As we were about to pass, a man appeared upon his grass.

He hurriedly gestured for us to stop, so we pulled over and began to talk.

We explained the entire situation, hoping for news of my brother's location.

He said, “I haven’t seen him, nor has my group”, but invited us in to let us recoup.

We shared his family some stories and food, it felt good to relax and lighten the mood.

After dinner, I needed a drink, so I retired to the kitchen where I smelled something stink.

I opened the fridge, where beside the clutter laid the body of my missing brother.

His skin was gone, his flesh was bare, I was frozen, immobile, filled with despair.

Could I alert my friend? Was I too late? I hoped my brother wasn’t simply the bait.

I scrambled back down through the hall to find my friend’s entrails strewn across the wall.

They’d used their teeth to remove his hide, his crimson blood the carpet dyed.

In a panic, with fear for my life, I returned to the kitchen to retrieve a knife.

I hid in the dark, waiting for my chance. The only way was to surprise their advance.

As soon as the daughter was in my view, I slit her throat causing blood to spew.

The entire family deserved no mercy, I slaughtered them feeling no controversy.

Through the desert, I drove back down, to my house in my hometown.

Upon my arrival, I was greeted by my mother, along with that same friend and brother.

They asked me where I’d gone so late, I simply fabricated a romantic date.

--

--

Lane Wagner

I love Go and Rust, and I like JavaScript and Python. I’m indiehacking on https://boot.dev when I’m not with my wife and daughter.