Laundry Baskets have a Shitty Stack-Based Architecture

Lane Wagner
2 min readSep 1, 2019

--

When I finally get around to doing laundry, I pick up the laundry basket and start dumping its contents directly into the washer. Inevitably the washer can’t do an entire laundry basket size load in one go, so the clothes at the bottom of the basket must wait until the next load.

By the time I remember to laundry again a week later, the basket is full. To summarize, the same articles of clothing that have been stuck at the bottom of the basket will likely remain there until the heat death of the universe.

Stacks and Queues

To those of us who have studied at least a small amount in the field of computer science, the problem is obvious. Laundry baskets are stack based. First in, last out.

The obvious solution then, is for someone to build me a goddamned queue-based laundry basket, so my Thursday woes can be at rest. That is all.

Twitter: @wagslane

--

--

Lane Wagner

I love Go and Rust, and I like JavaScript and Python. I’m indiehacking on https://boot.dev when I’m not with my wife and daughter.